Uses

Hops as an antibiotic

Hops have been in use as an antibiotic already in the early Middle Ages. Hops killed off beer-spoilage germs and thus served as a preservative. This antibacterial property can be attributed mainly to hop bitter substances.

Use of hops as an agent against tuberculosis is particularly promising. Research was initiated in the 1950’s. The beta-acids of hops have been identified as main active substances.

Hop alpha-and beta-acids display a high activity against the Helicobacter Pylori bacterium that may have a role in triggering conditions such as duodenal ulcers, gastritis or stomach cancer. They are also effective against athlete’s foot fungi and bacteria occurring in the context of acne and neurodermatitis.

The sugar industry meantime also employs hops as a natural antibiotic. Hops are used for extraction of sugar beet. In the food industry, hops represent a harmless alternative to synthetic antibiotics and preservatives.

Anwendungen

Antibiotikum Hopfen

Als Antibiotikum nutzte der Mensch den Hopfen bereits im Frühmittelalter. Er tötete Keime ab, die das Bier verdarben und diente somit als Konservierungsstoff. Diese antibakterielle Eigenschaft ist hauptsächlich auf die Bitterstoffe im Hopfen zurückzuführen.

Besonders viel versprechend ist der Einsatz von Hopfen als Wirkstoff gegen Tuberkulose. Erste Forschungsarbeiten hierzu stammen bereits aus den 1950er Jahren. Der entscheidende Wirkstoff sind hierbei die Beta-Säuren des Hopfens.

Die Alpha- und Betasäuren des Hopfens zeigen eine hohe Aktivität gegen das Bakterium Helicobacter Pylori, das Erkrankungen wie Magengeschwüre, Gastritis oder Magenkrebs auslösen kann. Zudem wirken sie gegen Fußpilzerreger und gegen Bakterien, die in Zusammenhang mit Akne und Neurodermitis auftreten.

Auch die Zuckerindustrie bedient sich inzwischen des natürlichen Antibiotikums Hopfen. Man nutzt es bei der Extraktion von Zuckerrüben. In der Lebensmittelindustrie stellt der Hopfen eine unbedenkliche Alternative zu synthetischen Antibiotika und Konservierungsstoffen dar.